Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Leos Janacek: The Cunning Little Vixen

Chamber orchestra version for 9 players: flute (doubling piccolo), clarinet, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass, harp, percussion

Performed at the Ryedale Festival 2011

Opera Magazine, October 2011:

"Iain Farrington conducted his own inspired reduction of the score to only nine instruments. But you would hardly have known that this was not Janacek's own. It danced and glided as if straight from Moravia: folk elements of the original seemed to emerge more clearly than ever. The chamber-music feel suited the intimacy of the production and no doubt the budget too.”

Listen to the opening here:

The Cunning Little Vixen opening (2’56)