Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Jean Sibelius: Symphony No. 5 for Chamber Orchestra

Sibelius composed his 5th Symphony in 1915-19, a work of tremendous power, originality and emotional force. This arrangement aims to create a full orchestral picture using only the instruments in Sibelius’s score. Hearing the clarity of individual lines can reveal hidden aspects of the score, adding an intimacy in the performing and listening experience, as well as enabling this work to be performed in smaller venues without enormous financial constraints.

Listen to a live performance of the arrangement here:

1st movement (13’40)

2nd movement (7’57)

3rd movement: ending (5’34)

Instrumentation: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, timpani, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass, (strings minimum number 2,2,2,2,1)

The arrangement was commissioned by the Royal Northern Sinfonia for performances as part of the 2018 Great Exhibition of the North.

Please enquire by email about hiring the arrangement.