Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Scary Fairy - Red Riding Hood

for Chamber Orchestra and Narrator

Scary Fairy - Red Riding Hood is a piece for narrator and chamber orchestra, with the text in the form of a poem by Craig Charles. The story is based on the tale of Red Riding Hood, full of brilliance, wit and danger, and features several new characters. The orchestral score is in the musical story-telling tradition of Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf, depicting the action in a lively and engaging manner while underpinning the text. Each character has its own melody that changes and develops to follow the action, and these are introduced separately in the first section of the piece. Scary Fairy is twinkling and twisty, Red Riding Hood is chirpy and cheeky, the Wolf is brash and brassy, Grandma is sweet and sentimental, and the Woodman is a country clodhopper.

This is a reduced version of the symphony orchestra score for 14 players:

Instrumentation - flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, percussion, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass

Listen to a performance of the work here: Scary Fairy - Red Riding Hood (32 minutes)

Premiered 29th May 2017 - Storyhouse Theatre, Chester

Narrator: Craig Charles. Orchestra: Ensemble Deva. Conductor: Clark Rundell

Duration: 32 mins

Return to Compositions