Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Scary Fairy - Red Riding Hood

for Symphony Orchestra and Narrator

Scary Fairy - Red Riding Hood is a piece for narrator and orchestra, with the text in the form of a poem by Craig Charles. The story is based on the tale of Red Riding Hood, full of brilliance, wit and danger, and features several new characters. The orchestral score is in the musical story-telling tradition of Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf, depicting the action in a lively and engaging manner while underpinning the text. Each character has its own melody that changes and develops to follow the action, and these are introduced separately in the first section of the piece. Scary Fairy is twinkling and twisty, Red Riding Hood is chirpy and cheeky, the Wolf is brash and brassy, Grandma is sweet and sentimental, and the Woodman is a country clodhopper.

A chamber version for 14 players is also available.

Listen to a performance of the work here: Scary Fairy - Red Riding Hood (34 minutes)

Premiered 29th September 2015 - BBC Philharmonic Studio, Salford Quays.

Narrator: Craig Charles. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Ben Gernon

Duration: 34 mins

Return to Compositions