Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Scary Fairy - Hansel and Gretel

for Symphony Orchestra and Narrator

Scary Fairy - Hansel and Gretel is a piece for narrator and orchestra, with the text in the form of a poem by Craig Charles. The story is based on the tale of Hansel and Gretel, and as with Scary Fairy: Red Riding Hood it is full of twists and turns, menace and humour. The orchestral score depicts the action while underpinning the text, with each character having their own melody that changes and develops throughout the story.

Listen to a performance of the work here: Scary Fairy - Hansel and Gretel (43 minutes)

Premiered 20th December 2016 - BBC Philharmonic Studio, Salford Quays.

Narrator: Craig Charles. Orchestra: BBC Philharmonic. Conductor: Clark Rundell

Duration: 43 mins

Return to Compositions