Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Melting Metropolis for Chamber Orchestra

Melting Metropolis is a one movement tone poem reflecting different aspects of city life. It is in three sections, opening with a fast, rhythmic and jazzy prelude. This is followed by a lament, the mood darkening in music that is passionate and violent. A lively but delicate fugue follows, as the music attempts to recover the spirit and energy of the opening. The work ends with a positive character, although mixed with defiance. The work was composed for Aurora Orchestra in 2011.

Instrumentation: Flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, percussion (drum kit), violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass (13 players)

Premiered July 2011, Oundle International Festival

Duration: 10 mins

Listen to a performance of the work here:

Melting Metropolis (9’52”)

Return to Compositions