Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Lamenting Lullaby for Oboe, Violin, Viola and Cello

Lamenting Lullaby was composed in 2018, based on material written in 2007. It is a meditation on the death of a child at birth, and of quiet grief. The piece is in three sections: slow, sustained music for the strings of restrained tension and release; a distant solo oboe call; and folk-like lullaby music of gentle simplicity, with lamenting phrases from the oboe.

It was first performed on June 2018 at the Fitzrovia Chapel, London by Daniel Bates (oboe), Laura Lutzke (violin), Adam Newman (viola), Hannah Sloane (cello)  

Duration: 9 mins

Listen to a live performance here:

Lamenting Lullaby (9’00)

Return to Compositions