Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Scary Fairy - Hansel and Gretel

for Chamber Orchestra and Narrator

Scary Fairy - Hansel and Gretel is a piece for narrator and orchestra, with the text in the form of a poem by Craig Charles. The story is based on the tale of Hansel and Gretel, and as with Scary Fairy: Red Riding Hood it is full of twists and turns, menace and humour. The orchestral score depicts the action while underpinning the text, with each character having their own melody that changes and develops throughout the story.

This is a reduced version of the symphony orchestra score for 14 players:

Instrumentation - flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, horn, trumpet, trombone, harp, percussion, violin 1, violin 2, viola, cello, double bass

Premiered 18th December 2017 - Storyhouse Theatre, Chester

Narrator: Craig Charles. Orchestra: Ensemble Deva. Conductor: Clark Rundell

Duration: 41 mins

Listen to a live performance here: Scary Fairy - Hansel and Gretel (chamber)

Return to Compositions