Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

The Elements for Violin and Cello duo

The four elements of water, air, fire and earth were probably first listed by the philosopher Empedocles in 450 BC, and were essential in Classical Greece as the root of so many academic fields: philosophy, science, medicine. Their association with human temperaments was thoroughly explored in many cultures throughout the ages until the present day, including Japan, China and India, as well as Europe. This work is an evocation of each element inspired by their form in nature, each a thing of beauty and wonder, as well as danger and death.

Premiered 20th July 2008 - Ryedale Festival

Duration: 15 mins

1. Water

2. Air

3. Fire

4. Earth

Return to Compositions