Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Cityscape for Clarinet, Violin, Cello and Piano

Cityscape is a work in three movements that evokes the differing landscapes of a busy modern city, with its nervous energy and bustling urgency. It opens with Rush Hour, capturing the noise, excitement and underlying tensions of city life, with jazzy and rhythmically driving music. Elegy is a sorrowful lament, reflecting the sometimes violent and dark nature of the city. Its fierce, angry outburst is a direct response to modern terrorism. A recovery is made in Revival, as the music steadily increases in energy with defiant optimism. The work was composed and premiered in late 2005.

Premiered December 2005, Gunby Hall, Lincolnshire

Duration: 10 mins

Listen to a performance of the work here:

1 - Rush Hour (3’29”)

2 - Elegy (4’19”)

3 - Revival (2’22”)

Return to Compositions