Iain Farrington

Pianist, organist, composer, arranger

Bluesday for Organ Solo

Bluesday was composed for the Little Organ Book, a compendium of organ works new and old, published by the Organists Charitable Trust and Novello. The volume is a collection of relatively simple pieces, with difficulty no greater than that required for Grade 7. This piece has a slow, downbeat quality, with a soulful melody in the outer sections. As a contrast, the middle is passionate and troubled, building to a fierce climax.

Duration: 5-6 mins

Listen to the work here:

Bluesday (5’43”)

Return to Compositions